I-4 Trophy

The I-4 Trophy is a model of the Class A-boat Viking III, which was owned and campaigned with great success in the 1920s and early 1930s by Henry H. Porter Jr. (1876–1933). He was Lake Geneva Yacht Club commodore in 1929 and 1930 and won Sheridan Prizes in Viking III in 1922,1925, 1926, 1928, 1929, 1930, and 1931. The model, 19 inches long and made of wood, was given to the Yacht Club in 2005 by Mr. Porter’s grandson, Henry H. Porter Jr. (IV), who is the great-grandson of the first Henry H. Porter (1835–1910), commodore in 1895 and 1896. The I-4 model, though not originally intended as a trophy, is a handsome one. After Mr. Porter donated it, Yacht Club member Robert G. Winter restored the model and built parts as needed, repaired the rigging, cleaned the sails, and replaced the fabric on the deck with white linen. The Yacht Club awards the I-4 Model Trophy to the A-boat with the best score in the combined races on a Series A scheduled race day. The winner’s name is engraved on an LGYC plaque that the winner retains for the year; the I-4 model itself remains on its stand in the Grunow Trophy Case in the Commodores’ Lounge at the Yacht Club.

  • 2010 Charles R. Lamphere
  • 2011 F. Terrence Blanchard/Andy Burdick, skipper
  • 2012 John R. Anderson/Vincent Porter, skipper
  • 2013 Eagle, John R. Anderson/Vincent Porter, skipper
  • 2014 Eagle, Ryan Fitzgerald / Vincent Porter, skipper
  • 2015 No Race
  • 2016 No Race
  • 2017 Eagle, Ryan Fitzgerald/Vincent Porter, skipper
  • 2022 Full Throttle, Vincent Porter
  • 2023 Red Sky, Paul Reilly