Chapman Petersen 2019 Cressy High School Single-handed Championship

Chapman Petersen 2019 Cressy High School Single-handed Championship


Photo – Hotchkiss School

Chapman Petersen ’22 captured the first national title in a quarter century for Hotchkiss, winning the 2019 Cressy High School Singlehanded Championship in the Radial class.

The win came on the heels of his winning the New England singlehanded championship last month. The event took place in Santa Barbara, CA from Nov. 2-3.

The event came down to the slimmest of margins to decide the winner, as Petersen and runner-up Nicholas Reeser ’21 of Saint Thomas Aquinas each tied at the top of the standings with 55 points. Petersen won the title by virtue of the first tiebreaker, which was the number of highest-placed finishes for each sailor. Petersen edged out Reeser with four first-place finishes compared to only three for Reeser.

It was a weekend of highly successful sailing for Petersen, who finished in the top five overall in 12 of the 14 races. Out of 18 sailors competing in Santa Barbara, he was one of only four ninth-graders or tenth-graders at the event.

“Realizing that all the hard work and sacrifices you’ve made up to that moment have all paid off brings a sense of accomplishment within yourself like none other, a sense of accomplishment that can only be achieved through your determination,” said Petersen.

Chapman Petersen Wins 2019 US Sailing Youth Champs – Laser Radial

Chapman Petersen Wins 2019 US Sailing Youth Champs – Laser Radial

Chapman Petersen held up under the pressure on the final day of the 2019 US Sailing Youth Champs in the Laser Radial division. On the last day of competition at Little Egg Harbor, Chapman received a U-Flag Penalty in the first race, putting the silver into question. Chapman took the penalty in stride and bested all others in the final race taking the bullet to grab the Connor Trophy.



Annapolis, Md. (June 29, 2017) – The National Sailing Hall of Fame (NSHOF) today announced the eight people who will make up its 2017 class of inductees:

Bill Bentsen (Winnetka, Ill./Lake Geneva, Wisc.), a two-time Olympic medalist – bronze in 1964 and gold in 1972 – who has created an indelible legacy for the sport through his contributions as a racing rules and race administration expert; 5.5 World Champion Ray Hunt (Duxbury, Mass.), the innately talented yacht designer of both sail and power vessels; boatbuilder Clark Mills (Clearwater, Fla.), best-known as the designer of the wildly popular Optimist dinghy used by children under age 16; windsurfing superstar Robby Naish (Haiku, Hawaii), who won his first world championship title at age 13 and went on to build a multi-million dollar watersports business; two-time Tornado Olympic Silver Medalist Randy Smyth (Ft. Walton Beach, Fla.), whose expertise as a catamaran sailor led to, among other things, work on major motion pictures; and noted America’s Cup sailor Tom Whidden (Essex, Conn.), the industry giant who recently celebrated 30 years with global brand North Sails.  Two additional Inductees are being recognized with the NSHOF Lifetime Achievement Award: avid sailor Bill Martin (Ann Arbor, Mich.), whose leadership roles in business and sailing – including the Presidency of the U.S. Olympic Committee –  led to a noteworthy 10 years as Athletic Director at the University of Michigan, and Corny Shields (New Rochelle, N.Y.), winner of the inaugural Mallory Cup which earned him national recognition on the cover of Time magazine in 1953, who conceived the Shields one-design in 1964 and founded the I.O.D. class.

For the Full Story Click Here

Bill Bentsen US Sailing Hall of Fame 2017

International Sailing Federation (ISAF) inducts Buddy Melges into the World Sailing Hall of Fame

International Sailing Federation (ISAF) inducts Buddy Melges into the World Sailing Hall of Fame

On November 13, the International Sailing Federation (ISAF) inducted Buddy Melges into the World Sailing Hall of Fame, one of seven people so honored this year in recognition of their outstanding achievements and the significant impact they have made on sailing. ISAF President Carlo Croce announced the names of the 2015 inductees at a ceremony at the organization’s Annual Conference, held this year in Sanya, China.

ISAF established the World Sailing Hall of Fame in 2007 in celebration of the organization’s centenary year. The first induction ceremony was in 2007; the third will be in 2019.

“The World Sailing Hall of Fame recognizes excellence both on and off the water,” said President Croce. “Induction honors an individual’s significant and lasting contributions to the growth, reputation, and character of the sport, and it is the ultimate recognition bestowed by World Sailing, the governing body of the sport.”

Candidates are nominated by ISAF members and selected by the Executive Committee.

“I wish to express my appreciation and my gratitude to the International Sailing Federation, to President Croce, and to the Executive Committee for electing me to the World Sailing Hall of Fame,” said Melges on learning of his selection. “I am greatly honored.”

In addition to Buddy Melges, the 2015 inductees are Dennis Connor (US), Alessandra Sensini (Italy), Harold Vanderbilt (1884-1970, US), Torben Grael (Brazil), Sir Peter Blake (1948-2001, New Zealand), and Valentin Mankin (1938-2014, Russia). The 2007 inductees were Paul Elvstrom (Denmark), Barbara Kendall (New Zealand), Sir Robin Knox-Johnson (Great Britain), Dame Ellen MacArthur (Great Britain), Olin Stephens (US), and Eric Tabarly (France).

In 2011, Buddy Melges was inducted into the (US) National Sailing Hall of Fame and has also been named to the Wisconsin Athletic Hall of Fame, the Inland Lake Yachting Association Hall of Fame, the America’s Cup Hall of Fame, and the Badger High School Wall of Success.